Testimonials and Reviews


Puppy Buyer Referral List

Dog Training referral List

9/1/2013

Please read my story about these incredible people.  My husband and I began our search for our German Shepard in February this year. After speaking to, or visiting SEVERAL breeders we found Thinschmidt! We called and spoke with Maria, made an appointment to come by, see the facility and speak with Michelle (office manager and co-owner).  When we arrived we were greeted at the gate and as we pulled in we saw a beautiful Shepherd approx. 10 months old just lying on the patio with a trainer about 10 feet away.  We walked past that dog and he didn't flinch.  When we entered the office and met with Michelle she explained to us this dog was purchased from a different breeder by an older couple and had some behavior problems. Well I have Never seen a more well behaved dog, could not believe that dog ever had any behavior problems to look at it now.  Michelle proceeded to ask us several questions such as, "had we ever had a GSD before and why were we seeking a pup, what was our home like etc... I am thinking hmm some of these questions seemed out of line but as the process continued I realized she was interested in all these facts so as to assist us in choosing the pup best suited for our lifestyle and personalities.  We spent at least 1  1/2 to 2 hours there. Michelle showed us every inch of the property not hiding any area.  ALL kennels were spotless.  All kennels were large so that dogs had room to play and interact.  They have a beautiful grass training area and a large fenced dirt play area.  She proceeded to introduce us to what came to be the stud for the littler we had chosen GONZO. Gonzo is the biggest most intimidating looking GSD, however he came right over to us, sat and had all his manners in place.  I put my face right up to his and snuggled a little and he was just a loving big bear.  It was obvious these dogs are well Loved and well trained. The parents we chose had not yet confirmed pregnancy but we knew when we left, Thinschmidt was where we wanted to purchase our pup.  We went home and put a deposit in online and just figured we would wait as long as needed.  A few weeks later the pregnancy was confirmed and the wait began.  On June 14th Uta whelped 6 pups, we were so excited.  Michelle sent us pictures fairly regular from that point on.  We also had shown some interest in Shutzund Training and were invited to observe.  My husband and I went a several times while waiting for our girl to be 10 weeks old and we have made several friends there.  She is 11 weeks old now and we couldn't be happier.  These people really Love their animals, they are all cared for, healthy and well adjusted.  All the people we have met through the purchase of our pup along with Doug Foster, Jen, Mike and all the Shutzund club members have been absolutely wonderful.  Always willing to offer advice and help in any way. They are a great support group to each other and we just feel blessed to have found Thinschmidt and all the people we have met through this experience.  We can't wait until our little Sascha is old enough to begin training with the club as well.  

Ron and Charlene Grace

  • My "puppy" is now 2 yrs and 4 months old. I constantly get comments when we are out together about what a good looking dog she is. 
  • My experiences with Thinschmidt are all positive. I like them and their trainers and always board with them when necessary, even though they are over 60 miles away. One of the great things about Bella, my dog is her temperament. She is very friendly. I also like the fact that as a 2-3 week old puppythey begin playing sound tapes for the litter. (common sounds dogs will experience, as well as fireworks, gunshots, sirens, etc.) As a result she is not fearful or sensitive to these types of sounds. My former german shepherd, not from Thinschmidt, had a terrible time with thunder, balloons popping, cap guns, etc.  
    Bella is healthy and active. Her vet gives her a clean bill of health. I picked a small female pup and Bella weighs in at 68-70 lbs. now, just where she should be. 
    I am including pictures of Bella, but they are from many months ago. 

    Good luck to you and your new pup.
    Len Knapp

  • We have a Thinschmidt shepherd that is now over two years old.  We wanted to tell you he is the best dog that we have ever had!  He came fully sit, down, stay trained, leash trained, and crate trained.  From the day we got him, he never had one accident in the house and not one thing was ever touched or damaged in our home.  Our friends could not believe it; we could not believe it either!! It was the best experience ever!  He is our constant companion and with us in our home all day.  These dogs make terrific companions and every moment with them is a joy!  We joke that our dog is more human than dog and we all love him so much.  My 9 year old son takes him everywhere- they are together from morning to night.  If you are considering buying a Thinschmidt dog and you have the time and attention to devote to these amazing dogs, then do it!!!  You will be so happy!!

    Corbie Baugh
    El Dorado Hills, CA

     


    Dear Michele,
        We were so pleased with your introducing our new puppy to us. She is now called Frieda. She is a wonderful and smart dog! You took a lot of time and effort to see that we made a good choice of a  new puppy. Thank you for all of the information that you gave to us. Thank you for all of the genuine good will that you sent our way as we left with Frieda to take her to our home. We have introduced Frieda to family members on Thanksgiving and they all love her. She also was introduced to Max, the Rottweiler that my daughter brought with her on that . day! It was fun to see them together since their coloring was very similar however one small and the other very big! She has a lot of energy which has made a big difference in our house!!  We take her for several walks each day and we have gone to a nearby park which works out well for us as well as Frieda!!
         We are so happy with Frieda and we look forward to having many wonderful hours and days and years with her. Thank you once again for all that you did for us!
                     Sincerely, Carol D

    Hi Sarah,
    Leslo is a very gentle dog.  He is one of the 2 best dogs I've ever had - I've had 8 total.  He is very loving, playful and has a friendly disposition about him.  He has tremendous markings.  He is very strong and agile - his hips are very strong and locked in.  He is very intelligent.  I would recommend Diane and Doug Foster if you want a quality German Shepherd.  I trust her and her assessment of finding the right dog for you.  If you have ever had German Shepherds before then you know what I am going to say - they are the most loyal Companion you will ever have.  I would go to Diane if I would ever get another one - she is a GREAT person.  I have had both male and female German Shepherds and I can say that the males tend to be more cuddlers and the females more protective.  I have a male now and my last one was a female.  I trust Diane much more than a local top North American breeder who is in Connecticut where I got my last German Shepherd.  If you have any other questions let me know. 
    Sincerely,
    Joe Lombardi

    Several years ago we were referred to Assertive K9 Training and had our Lab/Chow mix, Maddie, trained by Robert Eimer.  After rescuing Hawke, we immediately began to make plans to have him go through the six week basic course.  Robert accepted him and made wonderful progress in turning him into a truly great dog.  Hawke is a 101 pound Golden Newfie and is full of energy and willingness to please.  We are really grateful for your efforts.

    Here are two pictures of your past students.  Maddie and Hawke.

     

     

    Jon Richard
    Costa Mesa, CA

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    My doberman Bodie was 4 months old when I got him and he was extremely shy and afraid of people, especially men. I tried a few different trainers with no improvement in his behavior. I decided to do in board training with Assertive K-9.  He stayed there for 8 weeks and the change was remarkable. They taught me how to handle him and we did group classes to reinforce all that we learned. He is now 3 years old a wonderful running partner and  at ease around people. My thanks to Assertive K-9 and especially Robert.

     Lori Boyer

     Turn on JavaScript!  

    Phone # (951) 277-8151

     -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Bentley is doing well and we just had him neutered. We did not follow his puppy training at first and brought him back as an adult for his 5 week course.  What an improvement!  We are keeping up with the training and had just started with the k9 cruiser which he really likes.  We were as we told you at the time very very pleased with his progress  after being with you. Yes we would be pleased to serve as a referral for future clients.
    The best email is as above and our phone number is 6503281003 home.

    Jack & Joan Cronin - San Francisco, CA

    Turn on JavaScript!

     6503281003

     

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    My dog Siegmund,  a 2yr old male GSD with high drive. Had basic obedience from Assertive K9.  His problems were mpulsive, unfocused on me, dominant toward other dogs. Unable to put in ear drops in his ears and let me muzzle him.

    After training with Robert, Siegmund has become much more focused on me and is responsive to my commands, especially when other dogs around. Also, he now allows me to put in his ear drops and muzzle him when needed.

    I highly recommend Assertive K9 for any training or behavior problems you have with your dog.

    Agneta Cohen

    Anaheim, CA
    714 767-2271
    Turn on JavaScript!

     

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

    Don and Jill Bernard

    Phone:  714-914-9828 (Don's cell) and 310-480-2931 (Jill's cell)

    Email:  Turn on JavaScript! or Turn on JavaScript!

     

    Black GS, Female named Samantha (aka Sami)

       Sami Came to Assertive K-9 Training at 16 weeks, is now almost 2 years old.  She was in a program there for 8 weeks. 

        Issue: Fear Aggressive of people.  She was a very confused girl when she first came to your center and Robert, Jenn and the staff at Assertive K-9 all have brought some stability and guidance to her world of confusion          

        through gentle and loving training.  She is a much more stable girl because of the training provided by Assertive K-9 Training and we were given the tools to understand her behavior and to continue our training with her.  We 

        can not thank everyone there enough for Sami's progress and guidance! 

     

     

     

     

     


    Hello, Michele.  If Assertive K-9 Training would like to add us as a reference to your training/boarding services, Don and I are happy to sing praises about the staff and facility there.  Our contact info is:

    Don & Jill Bernard 

    Costa MesaCA

    Dog:  Sami  - German Sheherd Female
    Turn on JavaScript!" target="_blank">Donald.p.bernard@sbcglobal.net or Turn on JavaScript!" target="_blank">Jill.Bernard@vsp.com


    Dear Michele, Robert and Jenn.  A very BIG THANK YOU is owed to each of you and the staff at K-9 Assertive Training.  When we brought Samantha out to your facility at 16 weeks old for fear aggressive behavior we were at our wits end.   Leaving her for 8 weeks at your facility was tough, but the results are proof of both Robert and Jenn's training skills and knowledge of working with difficult dogs .  We now have a dog that is more accepting of people outside her pack, loves all dogs and absolutely enjoys going places. 

    The best part, every time we come out to your facility for Saturday group training, she is in heaven.  It warms our heart to see how much she loves and respects each of you.  We won't ever feel guilty when we go away for vacation and we bring her for boarding there…..she LOVES it!

    Thank you all for training Sami as well as providing us the tools and education on how to manage her behavior.  We appreciate your continuous guidance!

    Best Regards, 
    Jill and Don Bernard

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

    Dogs were trained for protection And reinforcing obedience. Night and day difference before and after training. 

     

    Brutus (2 years 4 months old), male, black + red 

    Isis (2 years 7 months old), female, black and tan 

     

    Mo Said

    Newport Beach, CA

    310-701-0831

    Email Turn on JavaScript!

     

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Our beloved pup Thermopylae "Thermo" was a 4 month old rescue that played aggressively and was destructive; we had a difficult time setting boundries with him.   After an intensive 6 week in-boarding training program, filled with positive reinforcement, Thermo had transformed into a well behaved and well mannered canine citizen. We were so pleased with his transformation that we brought him back for advanced training.  

     

    Thermo: 1yr old German Sheperd Male Mix (3/4 German Shepherd 1/4 American Staffordshire terrier)

     

    Michele Muico

    IrvineCA

    310 699-0226

    Turn on JavaScript!

     

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

    2/5/2012

           Many months ago, we rescued a White Shepherd. Lola was not socialized when she was young. Merely penned up in a crate or tied up in a side yard with no contact with people or other dogs. Not surprisingly, she developed some fairly significant behavior issues. Within days of adopting Lola, we knew we were in trouble. Fortunately, I happened on the web site for this trainer. I visited a Saturday morning Group class and was impressed by the approach to training and the variety of breeds involved. The next weekend, we returned with Lola to have her evaluated. It was decided she would best benefit from inboard training. 
           It was hard to part with her for nearly five weeks, but the change was remarkable. It provided a foundation for us to build upon and gave us hope that we could manage such a high energy, high strung dog. Without professional assistance, things would not have worked out well for us or for Lola.  Lola is still a work in progress. Clearly, we are not dog trainers and Lola will seize every opportunity to be in charge. The Saturday morning Group classes continue to be valuable as a way to reinforce the training she received and socialize her with other dogs.”

     Mike & Patty Canterbury

    Murrietta, CA 

                 Cell:  951  440-4916

                 E-Mail:   Turn on JavaScript!

    Lola, White German Shepherd Female

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     Sadie just turned 5 on St. Patrick’s Day.  She is a female German Shepard.  She was initially trained by you Assertive K-9 Training prior to us taking ownership of her and then we did several of the Saturday morning group trainings.  We’ve been doing the Schutzhund club for approximately 1 ½ years now.  It’s amazing what she has done!  Initially she had no interest whatsoever, but she is now a completely different dog with regards to bite work especially.  She loves going and so do we!  You guys are absolutely the best and do everything with care.

    Pete & Jeane Trevino

    RiversideCA

    Turn on JavaScript!,

    home (951) 359-3001,

     cell (951) 323-9091,

    Pete’s cell (951) 323-4958

    Sadie - German Shepherd Female

    5 year old

     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • 8/16/2011

    Absolutely the best dog training facility in southern California!!!!! We did countless hours of research and were willing to travel long distances to find our German Shepard. Luckily, they were just down the street.  My wife and I visited several times to get acquainted with the kennel and found them to be absolutely delightful. We purchased Xena from them and also had her trained prior to taking her home. The best decision I could of ever made. There weekly classes and behavioral seminars are a must for all pet owners. Robert and Doug are true miracle workers as they have all the answers fro your pet training problems.  You can't go wrong when you take your dog to Assertive K-9 in Corona..........

    P.S. Who needs the the Dog Whisper- I have Robert and Doug!!!!!!

    __________________________________________________________________________________

    5.0 star rating
    12/6/2011

    I have purchased 2 German Shepherds from this Breeder.  I originally searched all over the California for the top Breeder.  the dogs are so well trained at 13 weeks when you pick them up they should be in Guiness book of world records.  The family and trainers are the nicest people you will ever meet. All the dogs are like there own children.  Diane, Doug, Michelle, Robert and the other trainers have spoken to me several times after a year or two later with simple questions calling me back right away.  There property is amazing so much room and there dogs that are studs and the females are more like there family pets.  I also have boarded the dogs there and the training refresher course is the absolute best.  Trust me your dog is like your child if you want the best looking and best trained dog in the country contact these guys.  Want a refrence call me this is no line.  I love these guys.

    • Gary Temel 714 580 2366 call me for a  reference_____________________________________________________________________________________

  • John R.
    Costa Mesa, CA

    7/21/2012
    We just completed the 6 week basic course with our Golden Newfie, Hawke. Our guy is a 100+ pound bundle of energy, but Robert did wonders. He is probably the best dog trainer around and transformed our buddy into a new dog. We are repeat customers and confidently recommend this training facility.


  • Dear Michele,
     
    Thank you for the documents of Jupp you sent to us recently, very interesting European Community Passport! Jupp is doing very well, he is smart, obedient and a great companion, he likes to play so much that sometimes is overwellming!
    we all love him and he loves everybody, he is very friendly with other dogs and is very confortable traveling in my truck in his Kennel. I am sending some pictures of Jupp for your records, he is big and very handsom, some much that someone told me he should have an Agent!
     
    All the best
    • Maximo and Nicole

       



My doberman Bodie was 4 months old when I got him and he was extremely shy and afraid of people, especially men. I tried a few different trainers with no improvement in his behavior. I decided to do in board training with Assertive K-9.  He stayed there for 8 weeks and the change was remarkable. They taught me how to handle him and we did group classes to reinforce all that we learned. He is now 3 years old a wonderful running partner and  at ease around people. My thanks to Assertive K-9 and especially Robert.
 Lori Boyer
 Turn on JavaScript!;
Phone # (951) 277-8151
 -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bentley is doing well and we just had him neutered. We did not follow his puppy training at first and brought him back as an adult for his 5 week course.  What an improvement!  We are keeping up with the training and had just started with the k9 cruiser which he really likes.  We were as we told you at the time very very pleased with his progress  after being with you. Yes we would be pleased to serve as a referral for future clients.
The best email is as above and our phone number is 6503281003 home.
Jack & Joan Cronin - San Francisco, CA
Turn on JavaScript!
 6503281003
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dog Siegmund,  a 2yr old male GSD with high drive. Had basic obedience from Assertive K9.  His problems were mpulsive, unfocused on me, dominant toward other dogs. Unable to put in ear drops in his ears and let me muzzle him.

After training with Robert, Siegmund has become much more focused on me and is responsive to my commands, especially when other dogs around. Also, he now allows me to put in his ear drops and muzzle him when needed.

I highly recommend Assertive K9 for any training or behavior problems you have with your dog.

Agneta Cohen
Anaheim, CA
714 767-2271
Turn on JavaScript!
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Don and Jill Bernard
Phone:  714-914-9828 (Don's cell) and 310-480-2931 (Jill's cell)
Email:  Turn on JavaScript! or Turn on JavaScript!
 
Black GS, Female named Samantha (aka Sami)
   Sami Came to Assertive K-9 Training at 16 weeks, is now almost 2 years old.  She was in a program there for 8 weeks.
    Issue: Fear Aggressive of people.  She was a very confused girl when she first came to your center and Robert, Jenn and the staff at Assertive K-9 all have brought some stability and guidance to her world of confusion         
    through gentle and loving training.  She is a much more stable girl because of the training provided by Assertive K-9 Training and we were given the tools to understand her behavior and to continue our training with her.  We
    can not thank everyone there enough for Sami's progress and guidance!


Hello, Michele.  If Assertive K-9 Training would like to add us as a reference to your training/boarding services, Don and I are happy to sing praises about the staff and facility there.  Our contact info is:

Don & Jill Bernard

Costa Mesa, CA

Dog:  Sami  - German Sheherd Female
Turn on JavaScript! or Turn on JavaScript!



 
Testimonial:

Dear Michele, Robert and Jenn.  A very BIG THANK YOU is owed to each of you and the staff at K-9 Assertive Training.  When we brought Samantha out to your facility at 16 weeks old for fear aggressive behavior we were at our wits end.   Leaving her for 8 weeks at your facility was tough, but the results are proof of both Robert and Jenn's training skills and knowledge of working with difficult dogs .  We now have a dog that is more accepting of people outside her pack, loves all dogs and absolutely enjoys going places.

The best part, every time we come out to your facility for Saturday group training, she is in heaven.  It warms our heart to see how much she loves and respects each of you.  We won't ever feel guilty when we go away for vacation and we bring her for boarding there…..she LOVES it!

Thank you all for training Sami as well as providing us the tools and education on how to manage her behavior.  We appreciate your continuous guidance!

Best Regards,
Jill and Don Bernard

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Dogs were trained for protection And reinforcing obedience. Night and day difference before and after training.
 
Brutus (2 years 4 months old), male, black + red
Isis (2 years 7 months old), female, black and tan
 
Mo Said
Newport Beach, CA
310-701-0831
Email Turn on JavaScript!
 
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Our beloved pup Thermopylae "Thermo" was a 4 month old rescue that played aggressively and was destructive; we had a difficult time setting boundries with him.   After an intensive 6 week in-boarding training program, filled with positive reinforcement, Thermo had transformed into a well behaved and well mannered canine citizen. We were so pleased with his transformation that we brought him back for advanced training. 
 
Thermo: 1yr old German Sheperd Male Mix (3/4 German Shepherd 1/4 American Staffordshire terrier)
 
Michele Muico
Irvine, CA
310 699-0226
Turn on JavaScript!
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
2/5/2012
       Many months ago, we rescued a White Shepherd. Lola was not socialized when she was young. Merely penned up in a crate or tied up in a side yard with no contact with people or other dogs. Not surprisingly, she developed some fairly significant behavior issues. Within days of adopting Lola, we knew we were in trouble. Fortunately, I happened on the web site for this trainer. I visited a Saturday morning Group class and was impressed by the approach to training and the variety of breeds involved. The next weekend, we returned with Lola to have her evaluated. It was decided she would best benefit from inboard training.
       It was hard to part with her for nearly five weeks, but the change was remarkable. It provided a foundation for us to build upon and gave us hope that we could manage such a high energy, high strung dog. Without professional assistance, things would not have worked out well for us or for Lola.  Lola is still a work in progress. Clearly, we are not dog trainers and Lola will seize every opportunity to be in charge. The Saturday morning Group classes continue to be valuable as a way to reinforce the training she received and socialize her with other dogs.”
 Mike & Patty Canterbury
Murrietta, CA
             Cell:  951  440-4916
             E-Mail:   Turn on JavaScript!
Lola, White German Shepherd Female
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Sadie just turned 5 on St. Patrick’s Day.  She is a female German Shepard.  She was initially trained by you Assertive K-9 Training prior to us taking ownership of her and then we did several of the Saturday morning group trainings.  We’ve been doing the Schutzhund club for approximately 1 ½ years now.  It’s amazing what she has done!  Initially she had no interest whatsoever, but she is now a completely different dog with regards to bite work especially.  She loves going and so do we!  You guys are absolutely the best and do everything with care.
Pete & Jeane Trevino
Riverside, CA
Turn on JavaScript!,
home (951) 359-3001,
 cell (951) 323-9091,
Pete’s cell (951) 323-4958.
Sadie - German Shepherd Female

5 year old

 -----------------------------------------------------


  • Hi Michelle and Diane,
    Tom and I want to thank you for taking so much time to show us your dogs and explain your puppy and training program, It was a pleasure to see so many gorgeous German Shepherds and see your facilities. You are definitely our kind of dog people! We decided to wait for a litter of puppies rather than go for JD, though we were really smitten by him! What a happy, healthy, and obedient puppy! We will continue to ponder our options and make a decision in the near future. Tom has some appointments with the UCLA transplant team in a few weeks so that will give us a better idea when to expect his surgery. 

    Debi Pryde

    Hi Michele,
     
    Thank you so much for writing. I really enjoyed my whole experience with you and your family. You have beautiful establishment and I love the area that you are in.
     
    I learned so much from Doug and Diane, everyone was so nice and helpful to me. I will take my experience with all of you with me for life.
     
    Thank you so much for everything and God Bless all of you!!!

    Have a Fantastic Day!
    Cynthia Velderrain 
    ___________________________________________________________________________
  • Hi Michelle,
     
    Thank you for spending so much time with Jennifer and I today. You have a great facility and all the dogs we saw were beautiful and well mannered.  We are excited for the upcoming deliveries and hope Olga delivers healthy puppies and four males.
     
    Thanks again and will hear from you soon.
     
    God Bless,
     
    Anthony Whitney


    • Review from Daniela D.

    8/26/2011

    I have got my German Shepard, Max, there: they had him trained before I brought him home. That was the best decision ever!
    They are honest, very open, friendly, always available for any question or issue you may have.
    Max is now 15 month and I am still driving every Saturday morning from San Diego to Corona because that is a very fun and stimulating environment for him; I keep up with new training techniques and Max get his fun time!



  • Review from Mary M.

    Fountain Valley, CA

     
    8/22/2011

    I highly recommend this facility as I have been very impressed with the owners and the training staff ever since I started taking my dog to their facility when she was a puppy at 11 weeks old. She is now 21 months old and I have even re-enrolled her again just to continue to improve my skills as well as hers since I am a first time dog owner. Their classes are very fun and informative, they even offer a monthly behavioral seminar which helps their clients learn how to deal with various behavioral issues. Their classes also help to socialize my dog with other dogs. My dog was purchased from a different breeder but after watching and seeing how they care and start working with their puppies before they are sold and now knowing more about differences in breeders, my next German Shepard will be purchased through them!!! They are truly worth the 50 mile one-way drive every weekend.



  • Review from sandy s.
        • Moreno Valley, CA


     
    8/15/2011

    This is by far the very best training group.  My 7 month old german shepard has become a delight by learning and using the kind and gentle methods used and taught with the careful thought of what is best for the puppy.  The classes are fun, informative and inspirational.  Individual care is always given not only to the puppy but more important the owner because it is we who needs the help.  Our puppy had inboard at home training with Robert for two weeks and even our vet was very surprised in the change of our pup's behavior.  She requested and received info to pass out to her clients.  I recommend anyone who wants to know more about training and learning how a dog thinks to go to this class.  Sandy Sebree.

Hi,

My name is Kim Galvez and about a little more than 2 1/2 years ago we bought an imported pup from you.  I just thought that I would send you an update as to what he has been up to.

In the past year and a half we have been doing some training. And, with only three competitions under our belt, as of 3/19/11 we are officially Mondioring I.  I have attached some pictures of us at the 2011 USMRA Nationals at Triple Crown Dog Acadamy.  Although, Nationals was not our best performance :(  (our best was a 192 in Oxnard, Ca) We did have a qualifying score of 174 which gave us our second leg and our current title.

Kim & Gabriel Galvez
Quantum Vom Weideck, MR1


Doug and Dianna,

 Just wanted to let you know your puppy video is awsome.  Every time I read
 any thing about you guys I always learn something about dogs.  I'm glad you
didn't have the video when I bought "JW" otherwise I would have
 bought 2 puppies.  We still love him as much or more since the day we got
 him from you guys about 6 years ago.  Keep up the good work and may God
 bless everyone and every dog at Assertive K-9.

Your Good Friend,

Officer Donavn Rice
 Indio/Area CHP


Hi Michelle, Jennifer and Robert,
Here a short email about Zaira, or Loefje, as we call her. All our dogs were Loefjes.
Here she is with us on vacation to France. in a garden of a Chateau in the Bordeaux, and on the St-Tropez beach.
She is a miracle. Quite a handful: to say she is a medium would be an underestimate! Very intelligent, tries to chew anything at the moment, even electrical cord. One time was enough of that though.
We train with her 3-4 times a week, basic obedience, and at least 2 classes for advanced dogs. Yes she is that good.
Tracking is her favourite pasttime. We tried it during our days near the Med and she has no problem at all tracking a trail laid by one of us of several 100 feet with multiple curves.
She is almost equally good at retrieving. Heel, come and stay: no problems.


Good Morning Diana, Robert and Michele:

Some times we have an experience(s) that is so appreciated, meaningful, and exceeds our expectations. The real missing link is letting those that make a difference know...so wanted to stop and write this messge to say Thank You!!

 You, as a team deliver all you say you do. Raising/training a puppy when the owner needs as much (maybe more) training is a challenge. I selected Thinschmidt not just because of the amazing dog I have in Diva, but because I banked on the support I felt I would need. You, as a team have been there for more each step of the way and I can honestly say once your taught training methods click in for me....you take me to the next level.

 Robert, a special thank you to you. Not only your knowledge, but your patience and calming nature have been appreciated more than you know.

 I'll continue with Diva's training...yesterdays Saturday class was fun for me and I want to build on that.  

 My mom was just placed in an alzimers home and I would love to introduce her to Diva...makes me think about getting Diva approved to enter the home and make a difference to those that have this sad condition.

 See you next week!!

 Dorothy & Diva. ;)

 


Hello Michele, Robert, Diana & Doug!!

I would like to wish you a Marry Christmas (sorry I am late) and a
Great & Happy New Year to you and all your incredible dogs!!

With this I am sending you an update on Max: we did our first German
Shepard Conformation Show in Ocean Beach (San Diego) this month and
Max at 20months was given the title of SG-1 for Long Stock Hair with Undercoat

Attached is a picture Max, Suzie, me (Daniela) and the German Judge.

Ciao
Daniela
   

Hi Michelle,

She does great with her training
Thanks, Ryan

 


 

Dear Michele, Robert and Jenn.  A very BIG THANK YOU is owed to each of you and the staff at K-9 Assertive Training.  When we brought Samantha out to your facility at 16 weeks old for fear aggressive behavior we were at our wits end.   Leaving her for 8 weeks at your facility was tough, but the results are proof of both Robert and Jenn's training skills and knowledge of working with difficult dogs .  We now have a dog that is more accepting of people outside her pack, loves all dogs and absolutely enjoys going places. 

The best part, every time we come out to your facility for Saturday group training, she is in heaven.  It warms our heart to see how much she loves and respects each of you.  We won't ever feel guilty when we go away for vacation and we bring her for boarding there…..she LOVES it!

Thank you all for training Sami as well as providing us the tools and education on how to manage her behavior.  We appreciate your continuous guidance!

Best Regards, 
Jill and Don Bernard

 


Hi Michelle,
 
This is what Stella and Nick were up to while we were in Yellowstone.
  
 

 


Hello to everyone at Thinschmidt!
We just wanted to say hi and give you thanks again for providing our two additional "rugrats":) we love them and the are just the best!
I currently took a trip to north/east NV and thought you guys might enjoy seeing some current pics. Barron(Xaro son) and Lady Sif(Grocco/maddie daughter). Hope all is well!
Rondalee and Lexi
Racing
Exploring
Striking a pose
And Barron drinks w/his frizz-be. He can't get enough of it!

    

 


 

This is just a fast update on the puppy we bought from you on Nov 4, 2008 I think the day of the presidential election. Anyway I have been wanting to tell you just how much we love our dog,he is everything you said and more. He is perfect. Everything you taught us was spot on. We love Major! His father is Xaro von Ben Hartened. Thanks again. For the best dog and advice .

Take Care
Marybeth Lopez

 


Michele.

Sounds great, look forward to seeing it.   

Thank you so much for a beautiful dog,  Lena's a joy for everyone.  

We will be seeing you on some saturday in the near future for a group session.  Lena's doing great. 

I attached a couple recent pics, at the house and one from our trip to San Fran.

Thanks again!

Eric, Tyler and Lena

 


 

Hi Michelle,

 

It was good talking to you. Please see attached a picture of Brisco and Grace. They are such a delight to have. Best, Hisham

 

 

 


 

Hi Michele,

I will be sending you a fax of Ibo's rabies certificate shortly. Please let me know once you have received it! I decided to keep his German name Ibo (even though I may not be pronouncing it correctly)! I want to thank you guys again because Ibo is the most obedient and handsome dog my family has ever owned. His temperament is perfect for me and he is a great house dog! Everyone who meets him falls in love with him instantly and it makes me incredibly proud to be his mommy! I made the right choice in choosing him and I have you guys to thank for it! I have attached two photos of him to show you how handsome he has grown! In the photos, he's sitting in bathroom in my room, where he loves to sleep!

Please let me know if you need anything else. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Yu


 

Dear Robert and Michele
Thanks for a job well done by Robert in training our boy Sigge. I could see how much he love and respect Robert. I am in awe what Robert have managed to do with him in such a short time.
The ride went well home. Quit as a mouse. He have always been a good traveler.
When we came home he immediately found my old slipper that he loves to carry around and would not leave my side. He was sooo happy. He is now resting calmly in his crate.
Hopefully I can start to bear weight on my leg in 11 days so I can work with him . I think Alan will "work" with me now and not sabotage his training. He was very impressed with you all. :)
Thanks again,

Agneta 

 


Good Morning Michele, 

I just wanted to let you know that Scarlett is doing awesome.  She is such a love and is super smart.  My son Aaron snapped this pic of her napping out in the yard.  She is really a beautiful dog and gets along great with our male Duce.

Thank you for helping us choose our puppy!  She is a wonderful addition to our family.  

V/R
Heather Neumeyer

 

Michele,
 
You all are awesome!! Milo is awesome!!!!  We can't stop singing your praises.  Our neighbors can't believe he is the same dog.   We have been doing the 30 minute down stays at least twice a day.  And, I am working on the the  heeling and left turns.  We would love to come out on 4/2, but I am in a wedding on that day.  We will definitely be there for the next session.  We will complete your survey and send it back tomorrow.
                                                                                                                          Again, thanks for everything...
                                                                                                                                                   Angela and Tyrone

 

 

Dear Thinschmidt Family, This note has been a long time coming, but we want to thank you for Gertie (aka Fannie). We were the fortunate family to receive a beautiful dog through our Cesar Millan video appearance, which you generously provided us. We wanted to let you know that we absolutely love her and we could not have asked for a better dog. She is intelligent, well behaved, a protector and a wonderful family dog who loves the kids. I\'ve had a few German Shepherds throughout my life and although they have all been wonderful, Gertie is by far the best. I\'m allowed to bring her to work with me and everyone loves her because she is so well behaved. I can\'t tell you how many times people stop me to say what a beautiful dog she is. Without a doubt we recommend anyone wanting to get a German Shepherd come and see you. Gertie is doing great and turns two on March 17th. Thank you again for all your help. I\'ll send some recent pictures to email address above. Best, Ed, Maureen, Bronwyn & Lucia Mazzarella

                      

 


Hi Michelle!
 
Just wanted to update you on Timo.He is simply doing great.He adores us and the kids especially.He is so gentle my 8 yr old can walk him.We took him on a second and third car ride,he was easier convinced to get in than the first at your place.
He has a ravenous appetite for kibble but isnt sure yet about raw chicken.He loves playing with the girls and romping around in the grass and at night he sleeps in his crate.When I'm outside doing yard stuff I close the front gates,leave the side gate open and let him loose and he stays with me in the backyard and has no desire to go off exploring so I take it he is bonding already. He is really a sweetheart and still very puppylike for his age. Here's a couple pics..
Thank you again for such a nice boy.

 

Michele,

Lupe, and I would like to express how happy we are with our new puppy KIZER!!!! It was a wonderful adventure and THINSCHMIDT GERMAN SHEPHERDS are so great to work with. Kaizer was born 03/30/2010 and Michele,  kept us posted about the status and sent pictures about the puppies.  They have always been helpful and kind with any questions we may have. Kaizer is beautiful, he is rich red and black and we get so many compliments on his good looks. Kizer is a five month old male from this kennel and he is the toughest and smartest dog I've ever owned. If you have any questions I would gladly answer them @ Turn on JavaScript!

THINSCHMIDT GERMAN SHEPHERS is one of the most knowledgeable breeders I have ever met. My wife and I could not be more happy he is like our child. His temperament is perfect and he is healthy as can be. I took him for a hip x ray and it was perfect and everyone at the vet loved him. I’m very proud of our new puppy and  If you are going to buy a German Shepherd buy it from THINSCHMIDT GERMAN SHEPHERS. Very reliable and caring German Shepherd breeder. I recommend anyone who wants a beautiful and healthy German Shepherd to work with THINSCHMIDT GERMAN SHEPHERS.

 

Dennis & Lupe Starbird

 


 


Michele & Robert,
 
Feel free to add me to your referral list.  I am honored to be able to speak about your family's dedication and passion regarding your breeding, training and boarding.  I am sincerely pleased with my precious boy and I know that you are always there to help me with any questions or further training to enhance and challenge Jedi's intellect.  He is wonderful and I am absolutely happy to share that with any of your potential customers that wish to call me for a referral.  Please use my cell for referrals.  Have a blessed day!

Hello All,


I hope everyone is doing well!  I wanted to pass along my thanks for providing me with such a great puppy!  The first few months were truly challenging as with any puppy but I'm starting be to able to trust him much more in the house.  He's learning manors and is becoming a great dog!  Ali and him are getting along better than I ever expected and he has really taken to playing fetch.  

Thank you all again
     

Kevin


I just wanted to say thank you for allowing me to visit this past Saturday. I have traveled all over the world but the one place I enjoy visiting the most is your facility. It is amazing to watch you and your staff work and the enthusiasm you bring to the people who have brought their dogs to be trained. I don't believe I have ever watched such a group of people dedicated to the purpose of
making the world a better place with people and their dogs. Thanks again for the hospitality this past Saturday and may God Bless you all with health and great success.
Your friend and customer,
Donovan Rice



 










 

 

 

January 22, 2011

 

 

Dear Diana, Doug, Michele and Robert,

                My husband and I can’t thank you enough for the wonderful puppy we chose from you. We’ve had Vincent von Thinschmidt  (Uta-Gonzo pup) home now for about 3 weeks and he’s adjusted SO well. My husband and I can see how much care, energy and love you all put into your breeding and training program.

                We both feel the need to express to your potential clients how important it is to choose a pup from knowledgeable breeders. As you know, our other dog, Mango has “issues” and when we brought her to you 2 years ago for a 6 week training program we couldn’t believe the difference in her when we got her back. She will never be the tender dog we hoped she could be, but because you have the knowledge, patience and skills, you had really opened our eyes to why she is the way she is. You taught us how to manage her and how to manage our environment to ensure her success. We can’t thank you enough!!

                When we decided it was time to expand our family, we knew where to go. Knowing how you socialize your puppies from a very young age, I think you mentioned you started as young as 3 days old, we can see the difference between Mango and Vinnie. Vinnie is a calm, level headed, confident puppy and it’s such a pleasure to be able to take him everywhere knowing he’ll be comfortable and not phased by his surroundings. We’ve heard so many puppy horror  stories from friends, such as their puppies nipping, jumping, soiling in the house and chewing furniture, so as first time puppy owners we did not want to have our own horror stories. THANK GOODNESS for your puppy guide you sent home with him, without it we would have been lost, We are following your guide to the letter and everything is looking good!

                We are impressed by your knowledge about the breed and skills as professional trainers. It’s no wonder why so many people pick you for a well tempered GSD.

                Again, we cannot thank you enough!

                                Mike and Jenn.




The Staff, Professionalism, Training & Facilities are exceptional!

After intense research across the nation, we chose THINSCHMIDT.  Visit the site to verify this choice; talk to the staff.  It is a well maintained, a clean environment, directed & focused at the dogs to provide the best care possible.

My German Shepherd has been lovingly taken care while performing intense training. I have been kept informed of her progress.  I am so impressed with THINSCHMIDT, that we would like to purchase one of their German Shepherds in the future so that ours has a friend.  They have the most beautiful dogs!

As for the breeding comments here, my German Shepherd came from a kennel out of state, which was similar, yet much smaller.  They are breeding correctly and take considerable cautions; just look at the outcome of their lines. Absolute beautiful dogs, happy and trained properly. An exceptional facility along with a most friendly, professional staff.

Please check out their website; but more importantly, make an appointment & drive to the facility; take a tour and view the remarkable dogs and grounds.

I highly recommend Thinschmidt German Shepherds to everyone.  We feel fortunate to have out German Shepherd in the best of care and professionalism.

Michele & Robert,
 
Feel free to add me to your referral list.  I am honored to be able to speak about your family's dedication and passion regarding your breeding, training and boarding.  I am sincerely pleased with my precious "Jedi" and I know that you are always there to help me with any questions or further training to enhance and challenge Jedi's intellect.  He is wonderful and I am absolutely happy to share that with any of your potential customers that wish to call me for a referral.  Please use my cell for referrals.  702.994.0637.  Have a blessed day!


Dear Robert and Michele
Thanks for a job well done by Robert in training our boy Sigge. I could see how much he love and respect Robert. I am in awe what Robert have managed to do with him in such a short time.
The ride went well home. Quit as a mouse. He have always been a good traveler.
When we came home he immediately found my old slipper that he loves to carry around and would not leave my side. He was sooo happy. He is now resting calmly in his crate.
Hopefully I can start to bear weight on my leg in 11 days so I can work with him . I think Alan will "work" with me now and not sabotage his training. He was very impressed with you all. :)
Thanks again,

Agneta 


Hey Robert...
Who trained this dog?!?!? By the way, we love her. She is great... And a teenager. Hope all is well, how is John and Juli miller's dog doing?



This is just a fast update on the puppy we bought from you on Nov 4, 2008 I think the day of the presidential election. Anyway I have been wanting to tell you just how much we love our dog,he is everything you said and more. He is perfect. Everything you taught us was spot on. We love Major! His father is Xaro von Ben Hartened. Thanks again. For the best dog and advise .
Take Care
Marybeth Lopez/Users/marybethlopez/
Pictures/iPhoto Library/Modified/2011/Jun 7, 2011/IMG_8809.JPG How do I add a picture?


Michelle & Staff,

Titan is 11 months old, weight 76# and has the beautiful red hair (I mean fur).
5-15-09 from Yello & Waneska litter. If you have pictures of his sibs we would love to see them.
Everyday we get compliments about how beautiful and well behaved he is.
He is the most friendly and loving shepherd we have ever had.
I have attached his Christmas picture (7 mo old) and today's pictures.
 
Thanks so much,
Linda, Chuck & Titan
Palm Desert, Ca

Hi Michele,
 
Zeus is doing great!  I wanted to thank you all for a wonderful job you did with his training and I would recommend your facility to anyone who inquires.  It was well worth driving him to So. Cal. Also, what a warm and friendly staff you have.  I felt right at home and look forward to stopping in with Zeus for refreshers when I visit my friends down there. 
 
Again...thank you so very much!!!
 
Take care,

Stella and my handsome boy Zeus


Well, our little guy is little no more.  While he weighed in at 65 pounds in September, I am sure that Rocco has put on at least another ten pounds.  His feet don't seem so big and he when he sits, his feet point out just like his father (Xaro).  So without further ado, here are some resent photos --

It's hard to believe that Rocco is only eight months old.  We still have him in his crate, so haven't spoiled him too much.  In the evening, he dearly loves to lay on the rug in front of us while we watch TV, and he and Michael really enjoy each other's company while I'm at work all day.

Enjoy the pictures, and thanks again for such a wonderful companion.

 

Lindie S. Joy

        


 

Hi Michele.  I wanted to let you know that Hinda (now known as Nina) is settling in very nicely.  She’s absolutelyperfect!  She is very well behaved and is already extremely loyal.  She has given me a sense of comfort and security while home alone and during our at least twice daily long walks.  She’s learning the new routines of her life, and seems to be very happy with the transition.  She is getting to the point of being fully relaxed around the house, falling sound asleep during nap time and not feeling the need to shadow me at all times.  Emmet (my little Daschund) is warming up to her – he’s still a little unsure of her size and puppy energy at times, but there have been absolutely no issues between the two of them other than the expected “jealousy” from one while I pet the other (the head nudge with the look of “what about ME?!?!?”).  J  Having the opportuity to spend this past 3-day weekend at home helped make the transition easier on all of us.  Thank you very much for making it happen on such short notice.  I truly appreciate your efforts.

 

Thanks again!


-- Hilary

 


 

 Dear Diana, Doug and Michele, 

First of all, let us commend all of you for all your hard work at producing the most wonderful family friends.  Our search for a discriminative GSD breeder paid off. We feel very fortunate to have the opportunity of owning one. Your passion, dedication and love for the  breed reflects in the manner you provide care and training to your animals, producing only the best of pets - and our children are lucky to be able to spend many years with one of them. Titan is an absolutely adorable dog with the best of manners and temperament....we could not have asked for a better dog!

We are also making sure we follow through with his daily training. He gets a walk in the morning and one in the afternoon. He does well during his down-stay, and that usually lasts more than an hour as he absolutely does not have any problem calming himself down and falling asleep! AWESOME!!! Seeing how well Titan behaves, Tony can't wait to start attending more training classes and is actually looking forward to enrolling in the protection class when the time comes. There is no doubt that your training programs are 100% effective! The whole experience has been nothing but pleasant and fun.  

On behalf of my family, Tony and the four girls, Tori, Lexi, Bea and Toni, I'd like to thank you all and we will always think of you fondly for giving us such a wonderful gift.

Sincerely,

Yvette Sardillo, proud owner of Cim and Razor's pup, Titan.


Dear Doug, Diana and Michele,  Oct 1, 2008

I would like to take this time to encourage anyone who wants a great dog or has a problem animal to contact Assertiveness K-9 for help.

We have had Zelda for almost three weeks now and at 15 weeks we could not have hoped for a better puppy.  The training administered by you has helped pave the way for a wonderful experience for my wife and I.  The important thing being we are not young and it would be difficult at this stage in our lives to deal with a new puppy. Who would have believed one could train an 8 week old puppy.  Zelda knows and responds to all the basic commands without hesitation.  When we walk she acts as if this is old stuff. (no knoddling in the grass or tugging). As a testiment to your breeding program is the attitude Zelda has towards others.

We live in a senior community where the appearance of decorum is everything.  There is barker on the same side of our house as the dog run.  Todate, no matter the outburst from the neighbor, not a word from Zelda.  When we are walking, training or at rest in the home and people or dogs walk by there is no lounging, barking or attitude. 

Thank you so much.

Then there was Ike our giant Schnazer, and I mean giant.  He topped 110 pounds and was out of control to the point of permanent sleep or training. I was afraid to take Ike even to the Vet for fear of an attack.  We could not leave him at a kennel for a vacation and even family and friends could not visit.

Then we found Doug and Diana.    After a few weeks of training we kept Ike another 8 years.  Their exceptional handling abilities made all of this possible. 

So people, run don't walk to Assetiveness K-9 Training.  You won't regret it.

Gary  and Faye

                                                                              


Hi Diane, Leslo is doing GREAT!  He is already house trained- done with positive loving rewards.  He loves to snuggle and cuddle.  He follows Joe everywhere he goes.  We are so thankful on this day of thanksgiving.  Leslo has brought so much joy to our lives and home.  You were right - to trust you.  We thank you and God for the work you and Doug do with these beautiful pets. Happy Thanksgiving, Joe Lombardi, Patti, and Leslo

Hi Diana,
Leslo is smart, lovable, extremely loyal and has stolen our hearts.  Thanks for all you, Doug and your staff do with these dogs.  You truly make a difference.
Thanks,
Joe, Patti & Leslo Lombardi

Hi Diane,

Leslo is doing great.  He is very strong and lovable.  He loves to go everywhere.  We bought a motorhome and we will be taking him on vacation with us.  We wouldn't have it any other way.  Do you know when his pink papers will be coming in from Germany?  Hope all is well.

Thanks,

Joe, Patti and Leslo Lombardi

 


Hello everyone,

Wanted to send you a picture of Razor, now some 5.5 months old. He is doing
great.

Saul
Folsom, CA

 

 

 


Hi Michele,

Sorry to get back to you so late. We just got back from a week of camping in San Clemente. Blaze is a very happy camper dog! We get sooooo many compliments on what a beautiful and well behaved dog he is! And of course I have to strut my feathers like a proud mama and reply, "Yes, we just love him" :)  Feel free to use the photos from Sequoia on your website.  I haven't forgotten about Lexi, I've just been busy. I will explain later. Hope she is doing well.

Take care,

Mary

    


Just thought we'd share a couple of recent pictures of Tiki....She's 8
months now, and we are so thrilled to have such a wonderful puppy!

Hope all is well with you!

Jerry & Amy Sarmento


Michele,

I am now more educated about German Shepherds and the quality of bloodlines. I think we have gotten quite a bargain! I have seen many Shepherds at the park, the pet store, etc, and none of them are as good looking, and well behaved as Reese. I may be a little biased, but all the other dogs we have seen locally are Way beneath Reese in looks and smarts.

I know you sell a lot of dogs to a lot of different people, but I just wanted you to know that Reese went to a family that will always love and care for him. That's the way I was raised and the way I have raised my kids. Reese loves us all and will always watch over all of us.

Reese went to the vet the other day. Weighing in at 72lbs at the young age of 7 months, he is solid muscle. I don't think one person has not made a comment about the size of his paws...lol even the vet commented how big they were and said he's going to be a big boy, the vet said he hasn't seen a Shepherd pup of this quality in years. I had never had a pet or seen a pet that wasn't nervous going to the vet. Reese walked in there like he owned the place and just flopped on the floor by my feet.

Reese is a loud to stay out of his crate when were home, loves to lay by us. He will go and sit by the back door if he needs to go get a drink or to the bathroom, before he comes back in, he sits and waits outside until we open the door. Reese will sit and wait while I put his food down for him. He will wait until I tell him that it's OK to go eat. Reese has learned his name and comes running when called. I will ask Reese if he wants to go for a ride in my truck, he will grab his leash and bring it to me with excitement. Such a smart dog! Reese also loves the snow!!!

Reese has definitely bonded incredibly with our family, a little stronger with me. Reese will not let me out of his site and seems to believe that his mission in life is to be by my side no matter what situation we are in. He follows me around everywhere I go & if I'm out in the yard working on something he will usually just sit down and watch me. If I'm not home, he will follow my 14 year old daughter around.

Reese is willing to let other people touch him but he is so focused on the family and surroundings that it is almost as if the other people don't exist unless someone moves too quickly towards one of us. The he has this VERY direct stare that seems to make people nervous. He will play with children and is very patient with them but even then Reese always knows where the family members are and what we are doing. He's laying next to me in the office now as I write this.

So, the long and short of it is that we love Reese! His temperament is perfect and steady, he knows his job and does it with determination and stability, and loves to do whatever is asked of him. He is a total joy! I know I keep saying this, be he is my definition of the perfect dog: babies and children adore him and grown me run from him. You can't ask for more!

I would love to teach Reese how to bark on command, any suggestions you might have, will be very helpful. Reese rarely barks. He is doing a lot of play biting, if you have suggestions for this please forward.

Thank you again for such a beautiful dog and friend. He is loved and pampered and is thriving.

Randy Lytle

P.S. Reese will start in a couple of weeks with agility training. Please find attached pictures.


Hello, Doug, Diane, & Michelle! Long time no see! I miss you all terribly. I was looking at your new beautiful website and it made me miss you all the more. I still have a rope choke collar that I need to return to Doug. I was going to just mail it, but if you all don\'t mind, I\'d love to stop by soon to say hi and return it in person. I\'ve recently started my very own dog training business & I often hear Doug in my head when I make a mistake in handling. I really miss his \"Oh Geez!\" that he used to holler at me when I messed up. :) But seriously, the skills I learned from you guys have been invaluable and I count myself blessed for knowing you and especially being able to work with you. I\'ve referred people to you several times for aggressive dogs and general training. Now that I\'m doing in-home training, I expect to run across other dogs that I may not be equipped to properly train and I will definitely continue to refer them to you. I wish you all the best. You deserve every success! With much love, Dusty Laurin


Hi Michelle,

Just wanted to let you know that CJ & Shelby arrived at their new homes ok.They slept the entire ride home. They are absolutely PERFECT and our bringing soo much joy to our lives already. Thank you so much for spending the extra time helping us choose the right puppies. I will send further emails & pics for you. Also could you say thank you to your mom for me and let her know her "pick of the liter" is doing great. Julie


Hi Michele,

Also, below is a picture of Elsie.  She is about 75 pounds now and is an absolutely beautiful dog with an amazing temperament, we can't thank you guys enough!


Michele,

I finally got organized with all the pic's I've taken of Isis.  She's a wonderful little pup..and brings us a lot of joy and laughter.

Thank you for picking her for us.

Greg & Lourdes


Michele, Doug and Diana,
When we brought Romeo to be evaluated by you we were desperate to find someone that understood dogs with aggression issues.
 
We adopted Romeo, a "boxer/lab mix" in October of 2007 as a dog for my daughter.  We previously rescued two other dogs and did not have issues with them.  After Romeo was neutered and had all his 4 month shots, we took him to obedience training locally in San Dimas.  Romeo was always the dog they put off to the side because his deep growl and his "powerfulness" were extremely intimidating to the other dogs in the class.  As time went on he did appear to become more submissive, but my daughter was definitely fearful of walking him alone and did not trust him around other people and dogs.  After completing the dog training, we were told to sign him up again.  After the first class, we received a letter stating, they could not manage Romeo safely in the class and felt he needed too much one on one time.  They referred us to Assertive K-9 Kennels.
 
Often when my daughter was trying to walk Romeo or even try to put his collar on (a choke chain", it was a battle to get it on him.  Often he would jump at or even bite at her arms in the process.  One night, he did hurt her badly and we decided that we needed to take him for evaluation at Assertive K-9 Kennels after procrastinating to do so. My daughter also was getting extremely frustrated and upset.  We took the last incident very seriously and realized in order to continue to be responsible dog owners and give Romeo a happy life and ultimately save his life, we needed to take action.  After all, he was now a 50lb dog...not the 12lb puppy we brought home.
 
I took Romeo out to Assertive K-9 Kennels alone... Doug  did his evaluation and was very clear with us, just what kind of dog we were actually dealing with.  Our "boxer/lab mix" was more likely a "boxer/pit" or as we like to call him a "boxerotti" mix with genetic aggressive tendencies.  It was hard to hear how we would have to change our ways and the commitment that was going to be involved, in addition to the financial component.  We had been doing everything wrong!
 
I took Romeo home. I had a long talk with my husband and daughter. I have to say I honestly proposed to my daughter that I would take Romeo alone and have him put down if she wasn't willing to deal with this kind of dog.  I told her I could not adopt him back out knowing that he might hurt someone or something.  With three kids in college and the struggles that everyone goes through, coming up with the finances was our biggest challenge.  Additionally, I can honestly say we had our doubts about anyone being able to change Romeo's 7 month old behaviors that we, unfortunately, contributed to greatly. 
 
A family member that knows how much our animals mean to us, offered to "sponsor" Romeo through the in-house training. 
 
We dropped off Romeo for as we call if fondly "doggie boot camp".  We showed Michele the bruises and cuts on my daughter's arms.  Romeo was subdued for a bit, but when Doug and his helper tried to lead him away, Romeo showed us for the first time, just how aggressive he really was capable of being... it was frightening. 
 
After 8 very long weeks, we finally went to pick up Romeo.  We first saw him walking off in the distance with Doug and we couldn't believe how calm he was.  We were given a demonstration without Romeo knowing we were there and then he was introduced back to us.  We took very seriously the basics we were provided with.  When we brought Romeo home, he did try to revert back to his old behavior.  As hard as it was, we kenneled him and followed Diana's instructions to the tee.  During the first couple of days, Romeo wasn't perfect and we did get discouraged, but we kept at it.  We then also started coming for the group classes. 
 
After all the work and it is a day to day, everyday commitment, Romeo has turned out to be a great dog... We have to respect that he is a "power" breed and has potential aggression issues... we take responsibility and use the tools we have been taught... they absolutely work.My daughter exercises  Romeo daily using the K-9 Cruiser attachment, he gets walked, trained and his downs... but he also gets free time and he is a happy, contented dog.  My daughter has even been able to take him to the park and play ball with him on the long leash.  He also has gotten to learn how to be around other people when introduced properly... People can hardly believe what a sweetheart he is compared to the scary dog they think he is initially.  My daughter has become a different person through working with him.. she is not fearful or afraid of him anymore.
 
Romeo truly has been able to live up to his name with thanks to Doug, Diana and Michele and all the helpers at Assertive K-9 Training, but more importantly for helping us save his life. You gave us back hope and a renewed faith that all dogs are innately good dogs, just sometimes (in your words)... "misunderstood".....
 
Allison & Amanda

 


Hi Michelle

Just thought I would send some pictures of Brielle born 02/13/08 she was the perfect pick out of all the dogs.These pictures should make your web page for such a beautiful picture of a true champion line German Shepherd.Thank you again for all of your help and training and answering all of my questions.  Gary Temel

Hello Michelle

I wanted to let you know how happy we are with Titan- he is beautiful, remarkably brave, and very intelligent. He is just full of energy and life. He likes to go to busy places and interact with people, especially children. Working with you before we bought Titan made such an impression and convinced us that Thinschmidt was the way to go. I cannot tell you how happy I am that he came to us already crate trained and housebroken- just amazing. I love to brag to my friends about Titan and have even made a few referrals. In the future, if we decide to get Titan a puppy friend we will come straight to you. Thanks again, and may God continue to bless you in all your endeavors.

Zach and Maria Stevens (Fresno, CA).
Hi Michelle,

We just wanted to say thank you again for giving us so much of your time and attention yesterday. You were so gracious to us and we appreciate the fact that you patiently endured our questioning before showing us the dogs. I know that you had a lot on your mind, taking care of your Mom and all of your responsibilities at work.

We did nothing but talk about Thinschmidt German Shepherds all the way home. We made several phone calls to friends and family to share our excitement and brag about your facility.

I can't tell you how impressed we were with your care and concern for the proper treatment of these beautiful animals. It is clear to us that you recognize that these are part of God's creation and they are a gift to us. That is very important to us because it usually means that everything else concerning the dogs is done right too. You and your family get a thumbs up from us and we will recommend you to everyone we meet.

We will be sending a check to you soon for our deposit. I have been looking on the site to find the parents of the litter we will be choosing from in November. Can you tell me their names so I know who I'm looking for and are their pictures up? There were a lot of names and pictures of dogs and I just can't remember.

Thank you for mentioning your Mom to us. This will give us a new name to pray for and we will do so diligently. We look forward to meeting her and it will be double the thrill to see what God has done in her healing.

God bless you... I know He already has...

Thankfully,
Brian and Debbie Kidwell

 

Assertive K-9 Training - October 2nd 2008

I have been training with the team at Assertive K-9 training for nearly a year as part of the ABC dog training externship. This section of the ABC course requires you to work with a dog trainer in your community and learn the practical side of dog training and running a dog training business. I was fortunate enough to be placed with Diana, Doug and Michelle at Assertive K-9 Training in Corona.

Diana and Doug are very experienced trainers who were always very willing to pass on their knowledge, which was extremely invaluable to me, and helped me successfully complete the ABC course. Although the kennel is always very busy both Diana and Doug always took the time to give me advice and suggestions on my training style. Even once I finished the externship section of the course Diana and Doug continued to teach me other aspects and methods of working with both the dogs and the customers. As a result I continued to go to the kennel every Saturday.

While I was at Assertive K9 they covered all aspects of dogs and training including breeding, puppy socialization and obedience, behavior modification and owner training. I was also very fortunate that Doug and Diana are one of a handful of trainers that will work with, train and rehabilitate aggressive dogs. Many trainers will not work with extremely aggressive dogs, so being able to watch and learn how to handle and train these types of dogs, and to see the transformation of the dog was priceless, especially as a new trainer.

The team at Assertive K-9 are easy to get along with and create a fun learning environment. I would love to continue to work with Diana, Doug and Michelle and become more involved in the Kennel. Unfortunately circumstances do not allow but I know I will remain in contact with everyone and make sure to visit whenever possible.

Thank you Diana, Doug and Michelle for all your help, I look forward to working with you whenever possible in the future.

Sharon Bell

Hi friends at Thinschmidt,
We got our puppy from you last December. He was the last male from a liter of imported puppys you had. Remember? Anyway, our last German Shepherd used to like to swim and we told you about him. Well, Riker LOVES the water too. He will put his head under to get his ball and lets us get a ride holding his tail. He is doing great. Very good with children/friends and other dogs. Rarely barks. He is 10 months now and weighs 80lbs.

Very Happy with our Dog,
The Quinns

Hi Diana and Michelle,

Thanks for the additional training, the adjustment in my training has helped Zito (Waneska and Razor), he is like a new dog!

For a 6 month old puppy he is very well behaved. I have him in the front yard on a down stay and he watches the kids. He is very good with the kids, he plays hide and seek with them. We also trained him to get the newspaper every morning.

I get so much attention from people commenting on how gorgeous he is! I need a new leash, I think I can do the shorter one...he is so big. I am sending yours back, thank you.

Thanks,
Helena Romans

Hi Michele,

Just a note to touch base since we've seen you. The obedience class for Blaze began this morning. Needless to say he was a shining star!! There are about seven dogs in the class, all different breeds, some large and some small. He was so well behaved, I couldn't help but be a proud 'parent'! The trainer commented on what a "beautifully bred dog he is". She has shepherds as well and was quite impressed with him.

Blaze has adjusted quite well. Just as I could see from the beginning, he is VERY attached to Tim. He follows him from room to room throughout the house. If I leave the room he could care less! If Tim leaves the room he is up and off to see where they're going. We just love him.

We go for daily walks mostly in the evening. It is much cooler and I think it makes it more enjoyable. My homework this week is to take him to a place where there are more people and distractions. I think we will walk in our downtown area called the village. There are always lots of people walking their dogs and/or just taking a stroll. I have no doubt he will behave very well. I will send pics of him once I learn how to download and attach them. ( Remember I told you I am computer challenged!). I will call next week for help with filling out the paperwork to change his name and ownership. Thank you again for your patience and kindness. Blaze is filling an empty spot in our hearts that I didn't think could happen after we lost our darling Buddy.

Sincerely,
Mary Hayward

Hi Michele,

Went to the vet this morning, everything is fine. Nyla has gained 3 lbs in 1 week. The vet goes Im concern about how quiet she is. And Im glad that you e-mailed me those papers yesterday , and I told the vet that this puppy has been trained to behave at the vet office. She also said that she is a beautiful puppy and whom ever you bought her from did a GREAT JOB,................ THANK YOU SO much. I will wait for her papers next week along with the DVD.

Thank you so much for everything Michele. I will visit you with Nyla some day when we are down in LA.

I think that Helena is there with Zito. He is a beautiful dog 2.
Take care.

Lena~
Hi Michelle

> Here is the picture of the first day at home with belle and king .
> hope all is fine We got the food and she is doing fine .
> Best
> Bob Ortiz

Hi Michele,

Ty is adjusting well. He has immediately bonded with my 2 year old. She loves him. We will be starting his training up again this weekend. He has a great temperament and it makes his so much more enjoyable. Not to say he does not have his "puppy" moments but he is quite a joy. Here are a few photos. He is getting bigger each day.

Cathy Tsoukalas
Diana,

Just wanted to let you know Lucy is doing very well and send you a picture. As I’m sure you would expect she’s a beautiful shepherd, extremely loyal, and loves to play

Hello there. Just wanted to let you know that we Love, Love, Love our new dog Titan (Bessy and Razor pup) and that he is doing very well. You can check out some pictures on our website: zachomatic.com Titan is almost 60 lbs at 5 months old! We are wondering how large his parents are to get an idea of his expected adult size. Can you email us to let us know?

Thanks, Maria and Zach Stevens
Hi Diana and Michele,

Bella is doing very well, I wished I could borrow some of her energy. My wife and children have really fallen for her, she really is the best German Shepherd Dog I have ever been in contact with. Our family is giving her a lot of exercise and love. We can't thank you enough for all the hard work you and your staff do to create such great, loving animals.

I recommended you to a friend of mine named Michelle, I think she will be talking to you soon if she hasn't already about available puppies.

Thanks,
Greg C.
Hi Diana:

Just wanted you to know that Caja is doing well, and we are having a good time with her. I am sending you a picture of her. She is not only our beautiful girl, she is also very obedient. She goes every where with us. I hope this note finds you all well.

Sincerely Russell and Marian Durk
Dear Diana,

Yesterday, I received the Pink Papers for Nestor. Thank You! Don't tell anybody of your buyers, that the best German Shepherd is already sold, because we have him. Nestor is absolutely the best, funniest and smartest dog we could get. It does not go a day, without me laughing. People stop me at the street, asking about him. This happens all the time, so he just lays down and let them talk and if there are kids, he let them pet him, while you can hear a happy sigh from him. At the moment we are taking a clicker class, which he likes. Last week, we got applause, when he sat like a squirrel and with both paws, gave me "a high five'

Sending a picture from the last walk at the beach.

Best Regards to you all,
Gunilla and Nestor

Hello Robert, Dianna & Doug,

Our ride home last week with Riley was uneventful. There was not a peep out of him! That was a good thing since it took about an hour and a half to get home.

The time that Riley spent with you and your training is priceless!!! We have almost made it through one week, and Riley is doing great.

We are following all of your advice. He is no longer top dog, but he is our family pet and he is being enjoyed soooo much more, now that we have him under control. We are continuing to work on the come command. He is fine while in a sit/stay, but when he is allowed to roam the yard, we must keep the long line on him so that we can correct him quickly. He is slowly getting it! Yeah!

Dave and I were very impressed with the training program and all of the time that you spent with us when we came to pick Riley up. You all are so educated in dog obedience and training, and it shows! Did I forget to mention very posititve and caring?

Thank you all for all that you offered to us. We look forward to each day that Riley progresses. He is a wonderful pet and we love him dearly.

Fondly,
Elaine & Dave Ludwin

P.s. Your compound is so relaxing… the music playing in the background is a beautiful touch! God Bless.

Dear Diana,

Well after my last email (Cody having trouble staying down and I was at wits end), I thought I would give it the old college try before I asked for further assistance. I can say we are doing much better these days. I have placed him in his down prior to playing to reinforce the reward. I have also tried to make the, "downs" more of a routine in training. He has responded well. I finally feel as though I'm really getting into the grove with him. Nancy and I took him on a hike to Holy Jim Falls last weekend in the mountains just east of El Toro. Cody absolutely had the greatest time running up and down the trails and pouncing in the streams we crossed. It was a 5 mile hike (round trip). He interacted well with other people and dogs on the trail as well. He was so tired he slept in the car (a first). I really want to thank you for all of your assistance in the past. It has helped immensely. He is such a beautiful, well mannered, well trained dog and we are very proud of him. We see a lot of imitation Shepherds at the beach, but Cody always takes the award (in my opinion) for his pedigree. I have attached a picture I took of him on the hiking trip. Thank you for taking so much pride in what you do. We look forward to continuing our relationship with you.

Sincerely,
Nancy and Cameron

Hi Diana,

We picked up Mischa last night with the other 5 new owners. It was overall a great experience. The 3 of you have done a great job, although she has been testing us. We'll try to keep to the ways you showed us in managing her. She had a small accident in her crate last night. We didn't hear a peep out of her, but in the morning (6hrs later) the towel in the crate was damp. We'll just set the alarm for sometime in the middle of the night to let her out. Did I say she's definitely testing us!! But she'll settle in I'm sure. I will send you the 5 best pics from last night in two email just in case you have 56k. I did what I could with Photoshop to brighten up the night shots. Feel free to use them however you please. Enjoy!

Regards,
Brian & Tracy Lee

Hi Dianne & Robert & Co.

Just downloaded these from our weekly trip to Doggy beach. Thought you might like to see how your little girl is doing. I hope you can unzip these. I couldn't decide on one so I am sending you a couple. Hope you all have a GREAT HOLIDAY and when we have a chance we will bring her by & let you see how well she is doing. I can't praise you enough for the way you trained her before we got her. She is very well mannered & is a joy to take on trips & just about anywhere we can go.

I think Tammy thinks of her as the daughter she never had. HAHA

Take care
Mike & Tammy Lipes ......... and Nena too

Diana and family:

"Cash" is just making a wonderful hit with us. She is gorgeous to look at, very bright and responsive, playful, energetic, and I think making a good adjustment. Is doing quite well with potty training, eating well (good appetite!), and we are conscientiously going about upholding the training you have put on her. The training is a lifesaver.....she focuses so well. (I've reviewed the tape not less than 3 times, so far!). We are socializing her each day -- she shows interest and is quite well behaved.

Got her an all wire crate on Tues. to sleep and "retire to for quiet time". She loves it. We keep it off our family/TV room and kitchen, then at night she goes into it in the room down the hall from our bedroom. She wakes me up about 3-5 hours after we go to bed to go out to poop and pee, then "hops" back into the house and crate to sleep another 4 hours. So far, very reasonable.

Well, I guess that is an answer. I sound like a proud owner, don't I? We are.
We will stay in touch. Thank you again for the opportunity to own such a beautiful dog.
Beth & Ed

Dear Diana:

Thank you for the really kind thoughts. It means a lot. Janet and I are very committed to providing solid and stable homes for dogs. Maddie is an example of what can be done with an animal that has been neglected and left on her own to survive. She is really a one-of-a-kind dog. You all did wonders.

I have given your information to an acquaintance. His name is Dan Marciello (is think that's the spelling). He has a Shitzen (sp?) trained German Shepard and wants to have him trained in only a few areas. He wants him to not bolt when faced with other dogs, cats or circumstances. Obviously, he has had a great deal of training, but he needs fine tuning in obedience. I gave him your phone number and web site, so if he contacts you, you'll know ahead of time.

I ordered the bike thing.

Again, thanks. We're taking Maddie to Catalina this weekend. So keep your fingers crossed. Oh, one other thing. I bought a bag of Nutro weight control food for Maddie. She is not eating. Is this normal? I am mixing a very small amount of wet food plus a bit of warm water. Any advice?

Best regards,
John Richard
Dear Diana, Bobby and Doug:

This letter is to thank you guys so much for all that you've done for our family and for our sweet yellow lab, Lucky. Lucky is a reformed dog because of your dedication and perseverance.

The greatest joy for my husband Danny and I is our yellow Labador, Lucky. Because we don't have children yet, we devote much of our time and energy to having a great relationship with our Lucky. We've had him since he was 6 weeks old and love him like family

During the very early puppy stages in Lucky's life, we had my 18 year old brother living with us which we believe attributed to Lucky's mouthiness and aggressive tendencies towards his treats. My brother, for fun, would take things away from Lucky's mouth and play tug of war with Lucky with his toys and treats. This must have been when Lucky started to realize that he had to guard with his mouth. I believe that Danny and I also contributed to Lucky's behavior by spoiling him and "humanizing" him in many ways. We gave Lucky free reign of the house, walked him when he whined, gave him treats without making him do any sort of commands, gave him food first, and basically allowed Lucky to feel like he was alpha in our familiy.

One weekend when my sister came over, Lucky took her piece of bread off the kitchen table and ran under the bed with it. When my sister went to go retrieve it from him, Lucky bit her and she had to get 6 stitches in her hand. This initial shock made us panic and we called one of several dog trainers right away. The dog trainer that our vet had recommended, told us to treat his aggression with aggression and punish him for any unwanted behavior. With much fear, we obeyed her, but only to learn that his aggressiveness was only getting worse.

On one fateful afternoon, we gave Lucky a treat before leaving to run errands and as Danny went to pet Lucky, he raised his upper lip, growled and bit Danny's hands. That was the last straw. We knew that we had to do something. Sadly, the thought of relinquishing Lucky became a topic of conversation. We knew that we could not have an aggressive dog when we were planning for children someday. My heart was breaking at the decisions that lie ahead.

Through a very good friend at work, I was recommended to see Diana Foster at Assertive K-9 Training. I picked up Lucky and took him over to see her to see Lucky's temperament and get her professional recommendation. She advised me to leave Lucky for 9-10 weeks for deep unconditioning and re-programming. Although skeptical and very sad, I knew that the only other option would be to put him down, which we were not ready to do until we exhausted all possibilities.

The major issue was cost for Danny and myself, but I told Danny that if Lucky needed a heart transplant or a surgery that would save his life, we would absolutely do it for him, and this was no different. We had to save his life.

After what seemed to be an eternity (10 weeks), we met up with Doug, Diana and Bobby who advised us on what Lucky's new routine - no more free reign of the house - and how we could continue Lucky's overwhelming progress.

Since Lucky has come back, he is a totally obedient, loving and non-aggressive dog. No longer does he guard his treats, but he is more than willing to give them up on command.

Assertive K-9 Training really saved Lucky's life and during the 10 weeks, they were more than willing to answer my questions and to support us. Bobby has been instrumental and amazing at working with Lucky and making his training a positive and fun experience.

Just in time for the holidays, Lucky is back with us, and we feel so blessed at his new lease on life.

Thank you Assertive K-9 Training!!!

Grace & Danny Lee
I am happy to give you our opinion of Assertive K-9 Referral. Do not hesitate if you feel you have an aggressive issue at all do not stop go directly to Corona and drop your baby off. You will never regret it. If anyone can help you with your Dog they can. Thunder is our second Rottweiler and has a wonderful temperament. As he approached three however he began to get a little "aggressive" by my definition. That is when we took him to Robert, Doug and Diane. They are incredible. They truly are. They can deal with all types of behavioral issues. For Thunder one of our biggest issues was focus when we had him out and about with other animals and other people. He also was getting a bit dominant when we had him at the beach at the park or around othe dogs. After having a VERY AGRESSIVE female Rottweiler I didn't want that again. The trainer really provided focus for Thunder. With all the other dogs around in a very safe environment your dog can be trained with focused attention while getting the appropriate socialization to work on his other tendencies. Rottweilers like to work, they like to be challenged. I believe that if you are having aggressive issues with your dog that getting him working will be one of the best things for him. By working I mean the training. They really begin to love it. Robert handled the majority of Thunders training and he was incredible. Doug and Diane also had significant roles in Thunders training. They were able to train Thunder to perform in ways I never thought possible. We live in Germany and Dogs must be fully trained here. Thunder's training brought on the results necessary for us to take him with us anywhere in Germany. He goes to Restaurants, markets, trains everywhere.

An Aggressive rottweiler is difficult to deal with, a trained focused rottweiler is an incredible gift. Take him to Diane, Robert and Doug and have them let you know what they can do. They will not pull any punches with you. If there is something in the Dogs temperament that is the issue they will let you know. If it is something you are doing they will let you know. Be open. In the end we found out it was probably me that needed the training.

If you have any additional questions please don't hesitate to let me know.

Enclosed you will find a picture of Thunder this past weekend at the Kuekenhof in Holland (Huge Tulip gardens). We had groups of tourists all day taking pictures with him around the tulips... he had so much fun..... however the key here is that the gardens were incredible crowded and Thunder sat posing (if you will) for this picture with none of us holding on to him....we would have had a really tough time pulling that off with him before.

Hello from KC and Ginger who writes to us…
I thought it would be nice for you to see how great they turned out.
They both are doing great. Thanks for everything.
K.C was from the litter 9-11-2003
Ginger was from the litter 10_2003 Marilyn Hoffman, CEO
Positive Steps Inc. 562-938-8353
Owner of Dutch von Zathan 10 months old
From Zathan & Holly ~ 2004 ~

viagra generika legal viagra belgie kamagra oral jelly lowest price viagra i apotek forum cialis online kaufen